Out of the Fire – The Details that Haunt My Dreams

Annie Chivers

The thought of becoming a first time author was a very intimidating one, but I knew that I had a story to tell. This was not just a story; it was a historical event, which had a dynamic impact not only on the families involved, but also on the local community and the state of New York as a whole.

On November 16, 1957, I became one of seven persons who survived a hotel fire in Niagara Falls, New York that killed eighteen others – fifteen of whom were children. Seven of those children were my siblings, all six of my brothers and my five-month-old baby sister. One man lost his entire nine-member family (wife and eight children), and two other adults out of the firealso perished. Sometimes it overwhelms me just to think about the loss. Although I remember very little about the fire (after all I was only four years old)…

View original post 420 more words

2 thoughts on “Out of the Fire – The Details that Haunt My Dreams

Leave a Reply

