Advance Review of Unremembered Things by Rachel Tsoumbakos

Unremembered ThingsUnremembered Things by Rachel Tsoumbakos
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

eBook Review Gal received a complimentary ARC of this book.

Summary:

Indiana Shamira struggles to piece together the fragments of her life after waking up with amnesia. She doesn’t know anything about her life, other than she works in a salon, and is good at her job. She has a nonexclusive relationship with her co-worker, Kurt, and a strange guy hanging from the rafters in her cellar.

As she contemplates her life, and the fact that not remembering things isn’t actually all that bad, she and a strange visitor, Sam, develop a friendship. As her feelings for the mysterious Sam grow, she begins to remember fragments of her life before. When she learns what he is, Indiana starts to realize that maybe she isn’t human after all. Kurt tries to use this realization, and their relationship, to his advantage. He tries to make her open the portal to Hell!

Will she be able to keep from falling for Sam? Can she handle everything that has just been dropped on her, without opening the portal?

Reactions:

I was really excited about reading this book. Paranormal? Romance? Magic? This was right up my alley. Not to mention, of course, the psychological issue of amnesia, which is just fascinating.

The moment I began reading, I was hooked. Tsoumbakos writes with the most beautiful prose, and perfectly tows the line between “purple” and “gorgeous”.

She writes the most captivating scenes, and her imagery is realistic. I could feel the trunk of the Redwood tree, and the grass that Indiana laid upon. I could picture everything with vivid detail, as her narrative was spot-on.

Indiana is such a great character, and I love her perpetual sense of calm. She goes about her day, comes home, relaxes, and doesn’t really stress over her lack of memory. I would have been a complete wreck!

Sam is. . .well. . .enchanting. His mannerisms, the way he treats her, his gestures…*sigh* He is so helpful towards her, and genuinely cares. He does everything he can to protect her, and admits his mistakes when he messes up. He treats her with such tenderness that I teared up a couple of times. If this were to be made into a movie, he would be the heartthrob of millions.

The ending was really good, and definitely makes me want to know more. This would be a really good series, and I’m excited for the book to be published. I cannot wait to see more people enjoy this novel as much as I did. I stayed up way longer than I should have, because I just had know what happens next!

Review by Alexia Bullard, for eBook Review Gal.
eBook Review received a complimentary ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

