Review of Rise of the Enemy by Rob Sinclair

Rise of the Enemy (The Enemy #2)Rise of the Enemy by Rob Sinclair

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Rise of the Enemy is riveting, spellbinding, captivating, thrilling and believable! I don’t have enough adjectives to describe yet another Carl Logan roller coaster ride. Not only did I admire Logan from our first journey in Dance with the Enemy, I was able to see deep inside him and get to know his brilliant resourcefulness. Yet, all the while not knowing if I would be able to trust him. I certainly had faith in the old Logan. He definitely stole my heart and became my hero, but on this next assignment, Logan’s partner gets killed and he lands himself in a foreign prison. Feeling completely let down by his own people, Logan is made to deal with his own demons and I was able to see the real deal, the raw Carl Logan and that’s when I started to doubt his trustworthiness. Within the first three chapters of the story I had the sudden urge to jump ahead to find out what would happen next.

Having been captured by the Russians, when his assignment went wrong, Logan was tortured and starved. A beautiful Russian sadist named Lena was assigned to break him down. I was absorbed in his flashbacks while he was imprisoned and I wanted to reach out to him personally and tell him everything was going to be alright.

Logan was alone on the outside after he escaped. He could not trust anyone, even his own agency. He felt abandoned and didn’t know why his boss and father figure would do this to him. Hiding and being careful of his every move left him vulnerable when he was cut off from the world. Who could he trust? The couple who claimed to be agents from Logan’s agency? Lena the sadist from Russia who claims to have Logan’s interest at heart?

Once again, the author did not disappoint thriller and mystery lovers. Rob Sinclair’s vivid imagination has allowed Carl Logan’s character to be so believable that he came alive for me – literally making my heart dance. This story is loaded with mystery, deceit, murder, trust, revenge, and betrayal. The moment when I felt I was coming to the end of another great story and I started to take a deep calming breath, but then I wondered if this was the rise of the enemy, or was it? It kept me guessing! Kudos to Rob Sinclair! I am anxiously waiting in suspense for the sequel.

Review by Monica McDaniel for eBook Review Gal.
http://ebookreviewgal.com received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

