Review of John Shaw’s Guide to Digital Nature Photography


John Shaw's Nature Photography GuideJohn Shaw’s Guide to Digital Nature Photography by John Shaw

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was excited to have the opportunity to read and review this guide. I’m a self-taught photographer and my favorite genre is nature/wildlife photography, so I figured this book would be helpful. I wasn’t disappointed.

I agree with some of what the previous reviewers have said. The most obvious to me was that the typeface could have been a bit bigger. Maybe the publisher was trying to squeeze in as much information as possible, which is understandable. John Shaw has been sharing his well-respected photography works and advice for over forty years – that’s a lot of information.

I love that Mr. Shaw doesn’t encourage readers to run out and spend tons of money on photography equipment. The concept of “the camera you have with you is the one you should use” is honest and forthcoming. I’m always surprised at the quality photos my older model Nikon produces. The accompanying photos in this guide are certainly breathtaking.

Mr. Shaw shares a great deal of practical photography advice. However, if you are a true beginner, you might want to start with a more basic guide. My advice would be to check out a companion manual for your camera. Most of these include some very basic, yet very helpful information that’s specific to your individual camera.

I would definitely recommend this book for anyone interested in building upon their current photography skills. The guide is reasonably priced and the photos alone are well worth the cost.

http://ebookreviewgal.com received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

