Review of The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the TrainThe Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Rachel’s life has become a pathetic lie. Because of her excessive drinking, her marriage has ended and now she’s lost her job. To keep her unemployment a secret from her roommate/landlady, Rachel continues with her daily train commute. The fact that her train takes her past the former home she shared with her ex-husband, and now the home he shares with his new wife, is a painful reminder of what once was. So, instead, Rachel concentrates on the home a few doors down, and watches the goings-on of a young couple she’s named Jess and Jason. She imagines a detailed and happy life for the couple until the one morning she witnesses something shocking. Rachel is drawn into a police investigation, but her frequent blackouts make her an unreliable witness. Even Rachel doesn’t know what to believe.

Whoa, this was one crazy book with a bunch of effed up people if I ever read one. The author writes in present tense, which is my least favorite of all tenses, but I understand why she chose it. Paula Hawkins’ writing is so fantastic that I was able to forget what the tense was pretty early on anyway. The story is told from three separate POVs: Rachel, Megan (Jess) and Anna (new wife). One woman is more unstable, damaged and insecure than the next. Or maybe the dysfunctionality is equal, just different. Either way, it makes for some very entertaining reading.

I read this book quickly, because it was just so darn good. The middle dragged slightly, but I’m impatient and I wanted to find out what happened. A few times I thought I knew who the “culprit” was, but the story zipped off in another direction so I was definitely kept on my toes. The Girl On The Train is suspenseful, appealing and thoroughly absorbing. Forget the comparisons to Hitchcock. This book is a unique modern day thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat and guessing until the very end.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

