Review of The Witch of Lime Street by David Jaher

During the 1920s, after so many lives were lost during World War I and a deadly flu The Witch of Lime Street by David Jaherepidemic, people were eager to stay in touch with their departed loved ones. And so the age Spiritualism and Mysticism was born. While some people embraced the practice of séances, mediums and other forms of divination, others were eager to debunk the charlatans who preyed upon unsuspecting participants.

David Jaher goes into painstaking detail to provide the background story to the legendary showdown between believer Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and staunch skeptic Harry Houdini. At the center of the controversy is the so-called Witch of Lime Street, Margery Crandon.

I found this book to be tediously dry and a laborious read. It’s a long book to begin with, but the boring presentation of facts made for an even longer read. I did learn quite a few things I hadn’t already known about one of my favorite writers, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, but I felt more like I was reading through an encyclopedia of sorts. Maybe it was just me, but I found The Witch of Lime Street a difficult read.

3 of 5 Stars, Review by Susan Barton

eBook Review Gal received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

