Interview with Blake Gardner, Author of Inhuman Emergence: Innocence

Blake Gardner Author Photo 1

In anticipation of Blake Gardner’s upcoming Virtual Book Tour for “Inhuman Emergence: Innocence” (November 30th thru December 4th) via My Book Tour, I took the opportunity to interview the author. Blake had some interesting things to say about the first book in his new series and about writing in general.

***************************************************************

Q. Tell us a little about your new book, “Inhuman Emergence: Innocence”.

A. The book is a statement about the human condition. Society is so connected and intertwined. This is the opening book, an introduction to a world where the boundaries between the minds of people’s separate conscious and subconscious minds are grayed.

Q. What book genre would you say your book falls under?

A. The premise of the book is paranormal. Portions of it could be called science fiction, and some would agree that it is a science fiction novel but I tend to think of it as a paranormal one.

Q. Your main character, Owen, is a teenager. Will “Inhuman Emergence: Innocence” still appeal to readers of any age? Why?

A. It will, I know this from the ages of people I have sold the book to. Why would an older person want to read a book for a younger crowd? One thing for me stands out: it’s more family friendly. An adult might want to read a children’s book for the same reason they wouldn’t want their child to read Fifty Shades of Grey. Not that it’s a terribly written book but some things you just can’t unread.

Q. Did you always want to be an author?

A. There’s no simple way to answer that. I have always had an ability to write. The important thing is I want to be an author now. People have always encouraged me to write, some even suggested that I become an author before it occurred to me. It happened shortly after college that I decided I wanted to. I felt like the profession was calling me.

Q. How long did it take you to complete “Innocence”?

A. It took me over a year to complete. It was slow working on it at first. I didn’t know quite where I wanted to take the novel. It was just a hobby then, I had a day job and I would come home and write at night.

Q. Who are some of your favorite authors?

A. I enjoy many different authors. Tolkien, Rand, and Rowling just to name a few.

Q. If you could spend the day with any famous person – past, present or future – who would it be and what would you do together?

A. I would spend a day with Homer. There may be a language barrier, so I would study his native tongue before I visited him. His work was an inspiration to not only me, but many others over the centuries. I would have many questions about his work. After I ask him about the Iliad and the Odyssey, we’d enjoy a nice drink and a meal.

Q. When will the next installment of the “Inhuman Series” be out?

A. I hope it will be out next year, which means I will have to complete it soon. But don’t worry I’ve been busy working on it.

-END OF INTERVIEW-

Blake Gardner Author Photo 2

ABOUT BLAKE GARDNER

Blake Gardner is a debut author from Michigan. He has always had a love of reading. Writing interested him from a young age. For a short period, Blake found himself without a driver’s license and decided to write a book with all his spare time. “You can think of a great number of imaginative things while waiting,” Blake says.

He loves sharing his work with readers. Blake encourages readers to connect with him via his website, and on Twitter and Facebook.

*My Book Tour will be hosting Blake’s upcoming book tour for “Inhuman Emergence: Innocence” from November 30th thru December 4th. Blake is generously giving away FIVE signed copies of his book, so please stop by to say hello and enter the giveaway.

PURCHASE “INHUMAN EMERGENCE: INNOCENCE” ON AMAZON

*AUTHOR INTERVIEW AND MEDIA KIT PREPARED BY SUSAN BARTON, MY BOOK TOUR.

Leave a Reply

