Review of Free by Lisa Litberg

eBook Review Gal Book Review of Free by Lisa Litberg

Free is a Deadhead who follows the band on tour after she leaves home at the age of eighteen. Free isn’t her real name, but a name she chose for herself when she decided to change her life. Unfortunately, Free isn’t nearly as free as she’d like to be, since she makes several bad choices while living her nomadic life.

Once I got past the fact that it was written in my least favorite tense – present – I was strangely drawn to this book. While I’d classify it as a coming of age, New Adult book, it contains many interesting and engaging scenarios that will likely appeal to a wide range of readers. It has a definite sixties vibe to it, although the story takes place in the early 1990s.

While I wouldn’t have made most of the choices that Free made – taking drugs, staying in abusive relationships and stripping come to mind – it’s still a slice-of-life-style story that I thoroughly enjoyed. Lisa Litberg’s writing is conversational and light. It’s also lovely and poetic at times. It was almost like reading someone’s journal, only better. The author’s style is so easy breezy, I was able to zip through the book in less than a day. There was a slight formatting issue, which added some funky symbols here and there, but nothing too distracting. Perhaps the author will fix them eventually. Maybe it was just my download, I’m not sure.

I would recommend Free if you’re looking for something quick and interesting. It’s not just a story for females, since there were plenty of male characters in this book. Some nice and some not so nice. I’m looking forward to the author’s follow-up novel to this story!

5 of 5 Stars, Review by Susan Barton

Leave a Reply

